Skip to content

America Can Be Great Only If We Are Good

How we treat immigrants, refugees and their families defines us as Americans.

This July 4th, we, the undersigned, reaffirm the ideals on which our nation was founded and still stands.

Immigrants and immigration strengthen these United States, as they have since our founding. How we treat immigrants, refugees and their families reflects our commitment to the values that define us as Americans.

In line with these values, we believe the family is the bedrock of society and that we ought to look out for one another. People born elsewhere who believe in the United States as a land of opportunity and hope contribute to our country in ways both quantifiable and immeasurable. They grow our economy, protect our nation, and make up the fabric of our communities.

As we celebrate our freedom with neighbors, families and friends from all over the world, we call on America’s leaders once again to encourage citizenship for those who are eligible and want to pledge full allegiance to our country and to allow all of us, American by birth or American by choice, to reach our fullest potential.

America can be great only if we are good. We invite our leaders and our fellow Americans, across the country and on all sides of the debate, to engage in a constructive conversation that respects the human dignity of all of our neighbors and welcomes people of all faiths, no matter where you were born.  

With this history and these values as our guide, we shall continue to work together as one nation, indivisible and strong, with liberty and justice for all.

Join with leaders from across our nation and be a part of an American approach to immigration.




    • Leith Anderson, President, National Association of Evangelicals
    • Scott Arbeiter, President, World Relief
    • Shirley Hoogstra, President, Council for Christian Colleges & Universities
    • Hyepin Im, President and CEO, Faith and Community Empowerment
    • Jo Anne Lyon, Ambassador, General Superintendent Emerita, The Wesleyan Church
    • Russell Moore, President, Southern Baptist Ethics & Religious Liberty Commission
    • Samuel Rodriguez, President, National Hispanic Christian Leadership Conference
    • Bishop Joe S. Vásquez of Austin, Chairman of the U.S. Conference of Catholic Bishops’ (USCCB) Committee on Migration


    • Steve Case, Chairman and CEO, Revolution
    • Gerald Chertavian, Founder and CEO, Year Up
    • Logan Green, CEO and Co-Founder, Lyft
    • Bastian Lehmann, CEO and Co-Founder, Postmates
    • Tom Linebarger, Chairman and CEO, Cummins Inc.
    • David Mandelbrot, CEO, Indiegogo
    • Shantanu Narayen, Chairman and CEO, Adobe
    • David Rattray, President, UNITE-LA; Executive Vice President, Los Angeles Chamber of Commerce
    • Todd Schulte, President, FWD.US
    • Jake Schwartz, CEO and Co-Founder, General Assembly
    • John Zimmer, President and Co-Founder, Lyft

    National Security/Law Enforcement:

    • American GI Forum of the United States
    • Major (Retired) Ray Celaya, U.S. Army
    • Lieutenant Colonel (Retired) Leonard Carter Crewe III, U.S. Air Force/U.S. Air Force Reserve
    • Lieutenant General (Retired) Mark Hertling, former Commander of U.S. Army Europe
    • Lieutenant Colonel (Retired) Margaret Stock, U.S. Army Reserve
    • Dwayne Crawford, Executive Director, National Organization of Black Law Enforcement Executives (NOBLE)
    • Chuck Wexler, Executive Director, Police Executive Research Forum (PERF)
    • Retired Lt. Andy Norris, Tuscaloosa, Alabama
    • Chief Chris Magnus, Tucson, Arizona
    • Chief Roy Minter, Peoria, Arizona
    • Chief Sylvia Moir, Tempe, Arizona
    • Chief Mike Soelberg, Gilbert, Arizona
    • Chief Steve Stahl, Maricopa, Arizona
    • Retired Chief Roberto Villaseñor, Tucson, Arizona
    • Chief Michel R. Moore, Los Angeles, California
    • Chief Dwight Henninger, Vail, Colorado
    • Chief Peter Newsham, Washington, D.C.
    • Chief John Mina, Orlando, Florida
    • Chief Sarah J. Mooney, West Palm Beach, Florida
    • Sheriff Mark Curran, Lake County, Illinois
    • Michael Masters, Senior Vice President, The Soufan Group, Chicago, Illinois
    • Chief Michael Diekhoff, Bloomington, Indiana
    • Retired Chief Ron Teachman, South Bend, Indiana
    • Sheriff Paul Fitzgerald, Story County, Iowa
    • Chief Wayne Jerman, Cedar Rapids, Iowa
    • Public Safety Director Mark Prosser, Storm Lake, Iowa
    • Chief Mike Tupper, Marshalltown, Iowa
    • Deputy Chief Jose H. Salcido, Wichita, Kansas
    • Commissioner Branville G. Bard, Jr., Cambridge, Massachusetts
    • Sheriff Peter Koutoujian, Middlesex County, Massachusetts
    • Sheriff Jerry Clayton, Washtenaw County, Michigan
    • Chief Ron Haddad, Dearborn, Michigan
    • Retired Sheriff Mike Haley, Washoe County, Nevada
    • Chief Cel Rivera, Lorain, Ohio
    • Public Safety Commissioner Steven Pare, Providence, Rhode Island
    • Chief William Holbrook, Columbia, South Carolina
    • Chief Art Acevedo, Houston, Texas
    • Sheriff Ed Gonzalez, Harris County, Texas
    • Sheriff Sally Hernandez, Travis County, Texas
    • Chief Mike Brown, Salt Lake City, Utah
    • Retired Chief Chris Burbank, Salt Lake City, Utah
    • Commissioner Keith D. Squires, Utah Department of Public Safety, Salt Lake City, Utah
    • Chief Carmen Best, Seattle, Washington
    • Sheriff Mitzi Johanknecht, King County, Washington
    • Asst. Chief Randy Gaber, Madison, Wisconsin
    • Chief Michael Koval, Madison, Wisconsin

    Download Resources

    Learn More

    Read more about Legislative Bulletin — Friday, June 21, 2024

    Legislative Bulletin

    Legislative Bulletin — Friday, June 21, 2024

    Read more about Explainer: The Biden Administration’s Announcement to Protect American Families  


    Explainer: The Biden Administration’s Announcement to Protect American Families  

    Read more about D-3 Waivers for the Three- and Ten-Year Bars of Dreamers


    D-3 Waivers for the Three- and Ten-Year Bars of Dreamers