With New Ban, Trump Continues to Target Legal Immigration

WASHINGTON, D.C. — The Trump administration is expanding its travel ban to six additional countries, officials from the Department of Homeland Security announced today.

Citing security concerns, officials announced they are adding Nigeria, Eritrea, Myanmar, Kyrgyzstan, Sudan and Tanzania to a list that already includes Iran, Syria, Yemen, Libya, Somalia, North Korea and Venezuela.
Citizens of Nigeria, Eritrea, Myanmar and Kyrgyzstan will be barred from obtaining visas to live and work in the U.S. permanently, and citizens of Sudan and Tanzania will be barred from participating in the diversity visa lottery.
“At every turn, the administration is restricting legal immigration to further its message that immigrants are unwelcome,” said Ali Noorani, Executive Director of the National Immigration Forum. “The expanded travel ban announced today is just the latest example in a long line of policy moves.

“Immigrants continue to be integral to our nation’s vitality and prosperity, and targeting those who come to live and work here legally undermines our communities, our economy and our values as Americans.”


Learn More

Read more about Trailer: Immigrant Youth


Trailer: Immigrant Youth

Read more about Michelle's New American Story


Michelle's New American Story

Read more about Law Enforcement, Business Leaders Praise Mayorkas DHS Pick  

Press Release

Law Enforcement, Business Leaders Praise Mayorkas DHS Pick